Founded in 1989 and housed in a traditional two-storey house in the village of Sinarades, the museum consists of a unique collection of furniture and artifacts, put together with knowledge and enthusiasm by members of the historical and folkloric society of Corfu. On the first floor there is a reconstraction of the interior of a village house of the 19th century, with kitchen , dining-room, bedroom and all the furnishings and utensils they would have used at the time.
Read more: Folkloric Museum of Mesis
Mon Repos was built by Sir Frederick Adam, the British high commissioner of the Ionian islands. Among with Achillion, both Corfu Palaces are neo-classical buildings. Mon Repos construction began in 1828 and finished in 1832. When the Ionian Islands united with the rest of Greece (1864), Corfu Mon Repos was given to the Greek Royal family.
Prince Philip, the Duke of Edinburgh was born in the villa which after several years of legal battles was returned to its rightful owners - the local administration.
Read more: Mon Repos-Paleopolis Museum